Entry 347: Wide World of American Sports

The Upsizers

With the World Cup upon us, it reminds me of when I was a kid in Queens, NY, and soccer did not exist.

Yeah, I know–all the kids today play soccer and lacrosse. But when I was growing up in the 60’s, I’m not even sure we had heard of soccer, and I think lacrosse got a mention in an American history book as a game Native Americans (who were Indians when I was in school) played. No one I knew–absolutely no one–played those games.

We played three sports: baseball, football and basketball. We knew about ice paddlehockey, but we didn’t play it, because it required things that weren’t readily available, like ice. And we didn’t belong to any private clubs, so we didn’t play golf or tennis because there was no place to play them. Sometimes we played paddleball with wooden rackets on a handball court.

With the exception of…

View original post 856 mots de plus

Laisser un commentaire

